The Ministry of Higher Education in Iraq Registers Unprecedented Accreditations for Turkish Universities

Turkish Scholarship Guide

The Ministry of Higher Education in Iraq Registers Unprecedented Accreditations for Turkish Universities

فريق تركي كامبس | Turkey Campus Team Mon, Jul 10, 2023

Since the early 1990s, Turkey has witnessed the influx of many Arab students coming to study in its universities. In recent years, there has been a significant presence of Arab communities in Turkey, including a large Iraqi community. The option of Iraqi students enrolling in Turkish universities has become the preferred choice for many, thanks to the numerous advantages offered by Turkish universities. These advantages include high-quality education and academic excellence, as Turkish universities rank among the top institutions locally and internationally.

Additionally, Iraqi students benefit from various scholarships and grants available in Turkey. These include general scholarships provided by the Turkish government, the Islamic Development Bank scholarship in Turkey, scholarships offered by private universities to outstanding students, and grants provided by the Ministry of Higher Education in Iraq specifically for Iraqi students studying in Turkey. These opportunities are facilitated through collaborations with educational institutions in Turkey.

The cultural affinity between the two nations, the integration of many graduates into the job market, the lower cost of study and living compared to other European universities, and the ease of obtaining student residency in Turkey, which includes health insurance and legal residency status, all contribute to the preference for studying in Turkish universities. As a result, thousands of Iraqi graduates have emerged from various scientific and literary disciplines in Turkish universities.

For example, approximately 25% of Iraqi students study in Istanbul, with around 3,750 students living in the city. Additionally, 9% of students study in the capital, Ankara, with approximately 1,350 students residing there. This significant presence prompted the Ministry of Higher Education in Iraq to recognize over 80 Turkish universities. The recognition policy affirms that degrees issued by specific Turkish universities are credible and aligned with the quality standards approved by the Higher Education Council in Iraq. This recognition is facilitated through agreements and protocols signed between the Iraqi and Turkish governments to enhance academic cooperation and facilitate the recognition of university degrees between the two countries.

These agreements and protocols are implemented by the Ministries of Higher Education in Iraq and Turkey, which regulate academic relations between universities in both countries and facilitate the recognition of university degrees, as well as the exchange of experiences, information, students, and academics. The recognition encompasses various Turkish government and private universities, including the following:

Accredited Turkish universities in Iraq

  • Istanbul Aydın University 

  • Eskisehir University 

  • Kadir Has University 

  • Istanbul Gelisim University 

  • Sabahattin Zaim University 

  • Nisantasi University 

  • Izmir University of Economics 

  • Istanbul Bilgi University 

  • Istanbul Technical University 

  • Gazi University 

  • Bilkent University 

  • Bogazici University 

  • Abdullah Gül University 

  • Istanbul University 

  • Akdeniz University 

  • Koc University 

  • Firat University 

  • Yeditepe University 

  • Erzurum Technical University 

  • Aksaray University 

  • Adnan Menderes University 

  • Anadolu University 

  • Ankara Health Sciences University 

  • Ankara Yildirim Beyazit University 

  • Antalya Science University 

  • Recep Tayyip Erdogan University 

  • Atatürk University 

  • Balikesir University 

  • Batman University 

  • Bayburt University 

  • Beykent University 

  • Abant Izzet Baysal University 

  • Ege University 

  • Erciyes University 

  • Ibn Khaldun University 

  • Hittite University 

  • Mustafa Kemal University 

  • Hasan Kalyoncu University 

  • Harran University 

  • Gebze Technical University 

  • Fatih Sultan Mehmet University 

  • Aksaray University 

  • Kahramanmaras Sutcu Imam University 

  • Karamanoglu Mehmetbey University 

  • Karatekin University 

  • Ahievran University 

  • Kocaeli University 

  • Jalal Bayar University 

  • Mardin Artuklu University 

  • Mersin University 

  • Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University 

  • Mugla Sıtkı Kocman University 

  • Munzur University 

  • Namık Kemal University 

  • Necmettin Erbakan University 

  • Ondokuz Mayis University 

  • Ordu University 

  • Ordu University 

  • Pamukkale University 

  • Cankiri Karatekin University 

  • Selcuk University 

  • Sinef University 

  • Sivas Cumhuriyet University 

  • Suleyman Demirel University 

  • TOBB University of Economics and Technology 

  • Tokat Gaziosmanpasa University 

  • Trakya University 

  • Uludag University 

  • Health Sciences University 

  • Usak University 

  • Yozgat Bozok University 

  • Yüzüncü Yıl University 

  • Zonguldak Bülent Ecevit University 


We are pleased to announce to many Iraqi students that you can now enroll in Turkish universities with accreditation and recognition from the Ministry of Higher Education in Iraq. We are happy to provide you with all the necessary details and answer your inquiries through our social media channels at Turkey Campus.

فريق تركي كامبس | Turkey Campus Team